My Blogging Story

Not many people know how I got into blogging about autism and my background. In school, I was well read and loved researching topics of my interest as many autists do. But here’s my story and since we are at the beginning of a new year I think it’s fitting I tell you.

 

My love for autism began long before I was ever diagnosed. My nature is to always do for others what you would like done in return. So basically being a helpful little mouse. I knew kids in school who were different to me and the first day I noticed something different about me was my grandmother’s funeral. When we were talking about going all I could think about was my normal routine and that if I went to this could i go back to school afterwards. I know who would want to go to school after such a tragedy. My gran had always been into books and she loved reading to me and though I had just turned 8 and I don’t have very many memories of her. I do remember her reading with me whatever books I brought with me either from school or whatever. Then when I turned 14 and got my diagnosis, I could understand why I acted so differently to everyone else at that time. That wasn’t true with my grandad when he passed, I sunk low. But I’ll talk about that later. I digress, After I got my diagnosis I did everything I could to learn about autism, I looked on sites, I read stories, blogs mainly and I wrote a diary down of everything I did and was feeling, kind of like my own personal blog, Then when I sunk low into a bad depression because I couldn’t understand why a man who I loved dearly would forget me, EOSD early onset dementia I will never forgive you for taking my grandad away from me and I know now that he did not get it as a result of me being autistic- I blamed myself for 5 years. Then back in 2013, I wrote under another name as I decided it would be good to teach myself more I am an adult now and I should know what life has in store for me this period. I got some mean critics on blogger, where I used to write and this made me bad again so I stopped and thought whats the point. Then in August 2015 I finally picked my ass back up and saif stuff it I wanna write again, I want to help people and the best way I know how because I love to talk is blogging. I use a dictaphone app on my computer and just ramble into it as it translates my spoken word into text and then I copy and paste it in here and use Grammarly to check my spelling. I have never felt better about myself than when I am writing as JOAG, she gives me a sense of security in myself that I have never discovered before. I can be free and open with you guys and I love it, I will touch more on my life soon when I go into details about my exciting project I am working on this year.

 

Oh yeah and I finally got round to making one of these up

 

Joag’s finishing tagline as many people seem to have some sort of uplifting message and that’s something I am gonna do every day, I am going to use my media networks for the better and promote positivity within autism. So today’s is

 

Autism doesn’t mean different it means You are Awesome Unique Totally Inspirational Smart Masterful and what you do with your talents could change the world! How will you change it today?

Author: JustoneAutisticGirl

My About for 2016. Tada! LOL I am JOAG, Joag is a fictional character I created to help me write about Autism. JOAG is an acronym for Just One Autistic Girl. JOAG is a unique individual with a passion for autism. Now this year I am taking the blog a step further. Joag is creating a website. Not Just any website A web forum based on autism. creating a safe place for those on the spectrum. In my blog I tell personal stories my personal stories not some fictitious nonsense I make up to make my blog seem more relevant to you. Now I want a personal goal for me. I want to do something for me. Each day I want to be inspiring I am going to run 2 miles everyday. 2 Miles a day times 365 days. 730 Miles is doable and it’s a good start for someone just getting started. But my goal for the blog and site this year is the intervention for bullying. I don't have a stat yet for the number of people in the world with autism. But we do know that it touches 2.8 mil people a day How many people are bullied on the spectrum? How many are silent sufferers? How long will we let this go on?

Leave a comment