Coping techniques

I wrote last week about my meltdowns. Today I want to discuss my coping techniques and not all of them involve Suki tea. Although it is one of my best ways to relax in a big teapot of lemon tea.

  1. I write in my big black book. I have a black journal I keep for writing down all my bad emotions so that I can talk them through with someone when I am ready and calm enough to do so.
  2. I drink inordinate amounts of tea. Now I don’t recommend keeping a kettle upstairs but seeing as that’s where my office is. I have a kettle and my teapot on standby all the time ready to brew whenever I really need to decompress.
  3. I sing and dance like no one can see me nor hear me. Yep, all those teenybopper tunes the ones the, me behind JOAG says she hates to everyone she knows. Yep dancing and singing to guilty pleasures is a great way to unwind and have a bit of fun.
  4. I talk to you guys online you have no idea how much my little twitter posts help me just clear my head. Putting the words out there can help.
  5. I used to and this one is bad so I don’t recommend trying it but in the spirit of honesty and the fact I am anon behind the blog.
  6. Headphones they work wonders when out and about and faced with sensory problems. I have 3 pairs 3 big over the head pairs and one in the ear. All for different purposes, One in car One in purse and one at home

Let me know what yours are!

Author: JustoneAutisticGirl

My About for 2016. Tada! LOL I am JOAG, Joag is a fictional character I created to help me write about Autism. JOAG is an acronym for Just One Autistic Girl. JOAG is a unique individual with a passion for autism. Now this year I am taking the blog a step further. Joag is creating a website. Not Just any website A web forum based on autism. creating a safe place for those on the spectrum. In my blog I tell personal stories my personal stories not some fictitious nonsense I make up to make my blog seem more relevant to you. Now I want a personal goal for me. I want to do something for me. Each day I want to be inspiring I am going to run 2 miles everyday. 2 Miles a day times 365 days. 730 Miles is doable and it’s a good start for someone just getting started. But my goal for the blog and site this year is the intervention for bullying. I don't have a stat yet for the number of people in the world with autism. But we do know that it touches 2.8 mil people a day How many people are bullied on the spectrum? How many are silent sufferers? How long will we let this go on?

5 thoughts on “Coping techniques”

  1. It’s always nice to read about other peoples tools and strategies. A few of my favourite are:
    1. Cleaning, I bury my head down, and I start to clean. My house has benefited greatly from this practice!
    2. Going for a walk. When I’m physically moving around, I take energy away from my thoughts and I’m able to wind down a little easier.
    3. Talking on the phone, is by far my most useful practice. When I combine it with cleaning or walking it’s a double whammy!!

    I wish I could meditate when I’m spinning out, but I usually have to wait till I calm down before I can do a proper meditation.

    Like

  2. We have started giving our son warm milk before bed time – it was his idea and we wanted to support whatever he thought would help him relax and recover from long days. So far it seems to help!

    Like

  3. Seriously you got to stop stealing other peoples’ work. You take once good ideas from other, better, people and then dumb them down to your ridiculously low level. Just stop. You’re embarrassing yourself.

    Like

    1. Sarah, I did not steal anyones work. I wrote down what my techniques are. Now I value your input into my blog and I stress MY blog here but seriously. I write in a manner which fits myself. I know there are a lot of people in the world who may think it is to simple but sometimes simple can be straightforward instead of complicated Jargon. and NO i am not embarassing myself I am helping teach myself more about the world I live in. and anyone I do get help from is always credited!

      Like

Leave a comment