RC/6 ADHD

I have to laugh at the doctor I had when I was a kid. they misdiagnosed my autism with ADHD and put me on ritalin for symptoms

Common symptoms of ADHD include:

  • a short attention span or being easily distracted
  • restlessness, constant fidgeting or overactivity
  • being impulsive

Ok I may have a few of these.

But let me get into what Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder really is.

Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is a group of behavioural symptoms that include inattentiveness, hyperactivity and impulsiveness.

In a previous job I worked with many teens and young adults with different learning difficulties some of which were ADHD. Now a few kids were lovely and even when they had their outbursts they came to me and somehow I managed to calm them down. But there were some who no one could calm down sometimes all they needed was a break, and I wish more people would understand these kids.  So let me be the one to break it down because I am sick to the back teeth of these kids being labelled as “bad” when they act out in desperation for someone to understand them.

ADHD can happen to anyone, although it is more common in those who have learning difficulties. Symptoms are usually noticed when they start school. Most cases are diagnosed in children between the ages of 6 and 12. They generally improve with age but some continue to experience it into adult life.

Like many of these  conditions we do not know the exact cause though common themes seem to reoccur 1. Premature birth, 2. Smoking or drinking during pregnancy. 3. low birthweight.

Just like Autism it is more common in boys than it is girls. With girls however it shows itself to be ADD Attention Deficit Disorder.  Girls do not really experience the hyperactivity side of things, although some times we do. I think I may be the exception to that.

It can be treated with meds or CBT.

How to live with it.

looking after a child with ADHD can be challenging, but it is important to remember that they cannot help their behaviour.

Some issues that may arise in day-to-day life include:

  • getting your child to sleep at night
  • getting ready for school on time
  • listening to and carrying out instructions
  • being organised
  • social occasions
  • shopping

Adults with ADHD may also find they have similar problems, and some may have issues with drugs, crime and employment.

If you want to know more about it there are a billion bloggers on the net who post daily updates about life with ADHD and if any are reading this comment your link in the box below. xx

JOAG

Author: JustoneAutisticGirl

My About for 2016. Tada! LOL I am JOAG, Joag is a fictional character I created to help me write about Autism. JOAG is an acronym for Just One Autistic Girl. JOAG is a unique individual with a passion for autism. Now this year I am taking the blog a step further. Joag is creating a website. Not Just any website A web forum based on autism. creating a safe place for those on the spectrum. In my blog I tell personal stories my personal stories not some fictitious nonsense I make up to make my blog seem more relevant to you. Now I want a personal goal for me. I want to do something for me. Each day I want to be inspiring I am going to run 2 miles everyday. 2 Miles a day times 365 days. 730 Miles is doable and it’s a good start for someone just getting started. But my goal for the blog and site this year is the intervention for bullying. I don't have a stat yet for the number of people in the world with autism. But we do know that it touches 2.8 mil people a day How many people are bullied on the spectrum? How many are silent sufferers? How long will we let this go on?

One thought on “RC/6 ADHD”

Leave a comment